The god that you seek…

The god that you seek in the lips you kiss

The god that you seek in the sheets you sleep

The god that you seek in the legs you beg

The god that you seek in these lines I write

The god that you seek in the words of William Carlos, web Dubois, Malcolm x, martin Luther king, AbSraham Lincoln, Obama, Gandhi, sister Teresa, Einstein, Mohamed, Leopold Sedhar Senghor, Jean Paul Sartre, Nietzsche, TD Jakes, Hitler, Moses, Isaiah, JESUS,

The god that you seek in the ball you shoot,

The god that you seek in the fufu you eat,

The god that you seek in the color of your skin,

The god that you seek in the whistling wind and in the cold Sun,

The god that you seek in the machete you use, in the limbs you cut,

The god that you seek in the guns you use and the bombs you drop,

The god that you seek in the open mouths and closed ears,

The god that you seek in the child you bear, the child you kill,

The god that you seek in the money you make and the fakes you take,

The god that you seek in the job you work and the books you burn

The god that I seek in the hugs that I seek

The god that I seek in this thing between my legs

the god that I seek in the screen I watch

The god that I seek in the nods of people

The god that I seek in female shapes and woman’s fate,

The god that I seek in the smile I give and anger I show,

I  saw his fire from afar: a fire burning without consuming!

I have been knocking at closed doors,

Begging at closed faces,

Screaming at the empty sky,

desperate to leave this corporal habitation

for the day I meet the god I seek.

Leave your mark

