Love at every sight

We blushed as we passed each other in the hall

She was riding a red bike and a red dress

Our dark skins glowed with pleasure

As we recognized each other

Man and woman from a distant time

Reincarnated into these temporary vessels

To take another stab at fulfilling our destinies

We were soulmates who lived parallel lives

Always passing each other but never meeting one another

I never thought to ask where she was going

Who she was, where she was from, what was her favorite color, what was her favorite movie, what was her first memory, what was the first thing she did when she woke up, what would it take for me to steal her heart

I never thought to ask because her eyes dipped too far in me

And retrieved more than I was willing to share

As we passed each other in the hall

It was my favorite time of the day

I always dressed appropriately

Trying expensive combinations of colors and gestures

To make her stop and ask:

What’s that you wearing?

To make her stop and  see me

Little me that she glanced every morning

I wanted to be the ground on which her feet walked

The handle her hands grasped

The bike she rode with pleasure

The purse she wouldn’t let go

The blackberry she held to her ear

The mirror she looked in the morning

The necklace on her chest hearing her heartbeat

I knew myself ill equipped to change her world

But I knew enough rumba to rock her world

This wasn’t love at first sight

It was love in every sight.

5 thoughts on “Love at every sight

  1. I’m feeling it, brother. I’m going to do this national novel writing month. I have two stories you have to listen to. Not read. No, this time you have to listen. Remind me when we meet.

  2. this is “very” nice, ie, really enjoyed it! 😉

    “To take another stab at fulfilling our destinies” & “The necklace on her chest hearing her heartbeat” –

    just two of a whole series of lines, kinda like your lines, “This wasn’t love at first sight / It was love in every sight” – that’s the way your poem is too

    yes! 😉

    nice photo too btw, thanks!

Leave your mark

