“The Second Sex” ?

 

I have been stretching myself thin these last few days between school, life and work that I couldn’t get find my way to this blog, but it just happens that one of my literary theory classes is about renown french feminist Simone de Beauvoir “Le Deuxieme Sexe” (The Second Sex)  and for those of who don’t know who she is and you happen to call yourself a woman or who are born from a woman, SHAME, SHAME, SHAME ON YOU!!

After you recover for feeling ashamed, I would tell you that she has been the first to point out that the Woman as an idea is simply mythical, unrealistic and has nothing to do with  women in real life. She states that “Through eroticism, love, friendship, and their alternatives, deception, hate, rivalry, the relation is a struggle between conscious beings each of whom wishes to be essential, it is the mutual recognition of free beings who confirm one another’s freedom, it is the vague transition from aversion to participation. To pose Woman is to pose the absolute Other, without reciprocity, denying against all experience that she is a subject, a fellow human being.” As I read it, I was like yeah sure: be erotic, be loving, be friendly when you are not deceiving, hating or having rivalry and that will be part of the struggle between conscious beings. I don’t know how conscious those beings are to be, because I have to say depending on the time of the day, my level of consciousness goes up and down.

Little gossip aside: She was known to have contingent love relationships with men and women! OMG!!!

Back to the topic, this is about whether or not women occupy the second position to men. I know that this issue is pretty cut and dry in patriarchal societies, but I have always asked myself what if? What if this is a case of which comes first: The egg or the chicken?

This is as far as I will go on this topic, because like all the other -isms, namely racism, nazism, communism, capitalism; sexism can’t be addressed entirely or completely by this humble world crusader who has made the pledge to eradicate one world problem at a time. BUT my only argument is that since I have been an egg and I will never be the chicken, I know when and how to give respect to the chicken. I’m just saying.

5 thoughts on ““The Second Sex” ?

  1. really didn’t have a specific comment, but did want to say your ending lines made me smile, in a good way – i’m an egg-only person myself 😉 though i have contributed to helping make a couple new yolks 😉

Leave your mark

