Holiday blues (part 2)

Arianna noticed my sad puppy eyes and asked: “So how is your mom doing?”

“Strong as an ox, I know she will outlive us all.”

She came and sat on my knees, handed me a card and said: “I was going to wait for Christmas, but I know how you get after talking to your mother so here you go.”

I smiled as I read her note:” To the one who melts my heart even the world breaks it.” There was a gym membership card and an address with a phone number. I was like: “What’s this?”

“Well I read somewhere that working out is a great emotional booster and also I thought it wouldn’t hurt us to lose some weight, you know.”

“Oh, but aren’t you afraid that we would lose what was so physically attractive about the two of us when we first met?”

“You are funny, but you are not going to get out of this one. WE are going to start working out.”

“What’s the address for?”

“Oh that? It’s a workshop for aspiring poets. I thought it would be a good idea for you to get your work out there and start getting reviews.”

“I don’t think the world is ready for me.”

“I don’t think YOU are ready for the world. Anyways, it’s every Tuesdays evenings. I checked the reviews online and no one would be bashing you over the head, believe me.”

“Honey, it’s me who bashes people around and not the other way around, you better get it right.”

“Sure” She said quickly waving the white flag to my displeasure. I would have loved to exchange a few more rhetorical jabs with her, but she was already moving on. She got up and left.

I picked up my pen and wrote down:

There’s not going to be any tomorrow if today can’t be lived in its fullest. There has to be a death of some sort before any life worth living comes to fruition. Until then it doesn’t help to smell like death, you have to actually let that other you be dead and buried before you meet yourself. You have been passing yourself down the street and not even recognize yourself because you don’t know yourself but when the time comes, you will shake hands and go on each merry way. You can’t marry someone else until you have married yourself…

I looked up and saw the Sun winking at me before going to sleep.

4 thoughts on “Holiday blues (part 2)

  1. There’s not going to be any tomorrow if today can’t be lived in its fullest. There has to be a death of some sort before any life worth living comes to fruition. Until then it doesn’t help to smell like death, you have to actually let that other you be dead and buried before you meet yourself. You have been passing yourself down the street and not even recognize yourself because you don’t know yourself but when the time comes, you will shake hands and go on each merry way. You can’t marry someone else until you have married yourself…

    I know you probably weren’t thinking this or going for it, but I thought of DRC when I read this. DRC as a person making this transition—and I don’t mean just this election—from death to resurrection.

    • I have actually stopped thinking about it, but I like it when people find links that I didn’t consciously put there. Especially when YOU use Bible imagery 🙂

  2. Dude, I know more bible than the pope! I almost went to theological school back in the day, remember? And I’m not just referring to John 3:16—that sh*t’s on every bathroom everywhere. Nah, I’m talkin real obscure verses (think: all those weird laws in Deuteronomy and Leviticus, mayn).

    Onward!

Leave your mark

