The loves of my life

I wrote a poetic letter in 8th grade, I wrote a letter to a 12th grade girl who courageously refused to reveal my name when questioned by the priest at the Catholic school we both went to, and that would be as far as my bravado would go with her. I was told by one of her classmate that the letter was destroyed. I must have been ambitious because she wasn’t only the most popular girl in school, but also the governor’s daughter. Ah to be young and naive!

This is the poem that would describe how I felt in those days.

THREAT by Gottfried Benn
“Know this:
I live beast days. I am a water hour.
At night my eyelids droop like forest and sky.
My love knows few words:
I like it in your blood.”
In high school, I had a crush over a classmate and I never said anything to her and she got married and….end of story.
This would be the poem that describes how I felt:
I have to tell you  by Dorothea Grossman
“I have to tell you
there are times when
the sun strikes me
like a gong
and I remember everything
even your ears.”
And finally for the one swells my heart with winged feelings:
AD by Joy M.
“no sparks were apparent the first time
no pink words were exhausted to wake the passion hidden
I sent a little bird and was given a small seed in return
I slept with the seed, spoke to it, blew over it,
you would find me whistling and dancing because only I saw what others didn’t
she didn’t either
I was determined to make her a believer
but now I wonder who was swept away
love has a divine sense of humor
you pursue it only to be seized by it
love is war and I love every battle with her.”
5 thoughts on “The loves of my life

Leave your mark

