no tooth of wisdom

There’s no question that I am self absorbed

it’s when I touch your heart

that everything gets confusing

I mean look at us

we waste each other

as we go on kissing and stabbing

at each other’s Achilles’ heels

we make stupid statements like

all is fair in love like in war

when we are just too weak

to hold the thorns that are holding

the roses that we are

we say hurtful things like

I’m tired of you

when it’s our hearts that’s stopped pumping

and our smiles from shining

and our hands from holding

too often we have mocked

the quirks and oddities that glued us

now we are spent

in our quest for someone normal

we were fools in love

with no tooth of wisdom

to chew out the ego

and keep this grain of happiness to ourselves

 

6 thoughts on “no tooth of wisdom

  1. “we were fools in love
    with no tooth of wisdom”
    I like this type of poetry. Honest thoughts leading reader to a logical and true ending. Thank you for sharing the excellent poem.

  2. This, here, is what makes the poem for me:

    when we are just too weak

    to hold the thorns that are holding

    the roses that we are

    Love that thought, so true. I have backed away, holding stabbed fingers in my mouth, a time or two and later missed what I rejected.

Leave your mark

