No Breath

The past always plays on the loop on my large TV screen day and night

I could close my eyes and the voices and the faces are still there

“Take your pills, son”

“Don’t let demons in, son”

“Fight the good fight, son”

But Father, why has thou forsaken me?

I’m being shred to pieces on this battlefield

making weapons out of cloth and sticks

birthing and dying every day

but you are a No Breath resting with other No Breath

But you are a No Breath that I carry inside

like every seed carries its history

I bend over for the past that is inside me

and yet every character has a limited time to perform

before it turns

like others before him

into another particle of dust in the sands of Time

Leave your mark

