lower your hips

These days I practice the stance of a gold miner

Bent knees and lowered wait

Eyes focused on the streams of life

Sifting thought the drab of routine

Just for the shadow of God

That will appease my thirst

Even as  I stay feverish and shivering

My hair falling by the day

And my flesh sliding off me

In a quiet betrayal

I know as sure as I can feel

My left ear wet

From the lick of Death’s tongue

That my bones will remain standing

My knees bent and my waist lowered

As time gently withers me away

I will turn my days in all angles

Still waiting to find the shadow of God to come along

Leave your mark

