A Sad Love Story

I was caught up making memories of our soiree

That I didn’t notice when I slipped out of her heart

I wasn’t one of those “stop and smell the roses” type

Even when for a rose, her thorns weren’t that prickly

But we always talked past one another

The trajectory of our voices never converging

But our poses were the same

The same shyness at the corner of your eyes

We were fools, young and in love

In that order

And it didn’t take long for our folly to show up

This is a sad love story

So I will spare you the details

Of sleepless nights

And pillows soaking with tears

The thousands “ je t’aime” to get her back

I hibernated for awhile

Went through the motions without the Holy Ghost

And now a hint of Spring is returning to my step

I’m ready to leap but not to fly

I avoid the corner of my heart

Where I might bump into her

I take always the long way home

Stopping to smell every flower

And to have my heart broken

Only to pick it up again and again.

One thought on “A Sad Love Story

  1. I do not even know the way I ended up here, however I thought this
    submit was once great. I don’t know who you are but certainly you’re going to a
    famous blogger for those who are not already.
    Cheers!

Leave your mark

