I Was Grey and now I’m White

My shadow never left the plane that brought us to Oregon

I spent a year trying to locate it but in vain

I wrote to the airline company and my friends back in Congo

But no one has seen it yet

Everyone is starting getting annoyed

The way I keep asking

Have you seen my shadow pass by?

They say I’m just homesick

And that all will be fine soon

But when people don’t know

They just don’t know

They hold out limp hands with limp smiles

Give limp words of advice

While I’m firmly desperate to recover my shadow

It’s possible my shadow got tired of me

And went on a world trip to discover the purpose of life

I wouldn’t blame it either

I could use one too if I wasn’t feeling so hollow

Now that the black part of me has left me

And I’m left with the white part

People say

You look different

And I go from yelling to whispering

I WAS GREY AND NOW I’M WHITE

So when you lose your shadow

Act like nothing ever happened

Because when people don’t know

They just don’t know

Leave your mark

