A White Disk in a Dark Sea of Stars

I looked at the moon the other night

A white disk in a dark sea of stars

And thought about the building blocks of life

My depression has been dragging me

To a well of fruitless contemplation lately

But I hated empty time

So I filled the hours with philosophical arrows

Trying to pin this angst

But this is a river to follow

While I try to keep my balance

In stormy or sunny days

I had to keep my mind in line

And hope to catch a sea monster at the end of the line

Just to have some salt in my otherwise poor diet

I have so much and yet so little

My eyes always starving for light

And my heart gasping after divine sight

Every day I ask Death on a date

Just to refuse Him a kiss when Life callsA

2 thoughts on “A White Disk in a Dark Sea of Stars

  1. This is powerful poetry, Joe. As someone prone to depression myself, I was caught by these verses particularly:

    And hope to catch a sea monster at the end of the line

    Just to have some salt in my otherwise poor diet

    I have so much and yet so little

    My eyes always starving for light

    I am glad to be reading you again. I don’t know where the time went.

Leave your mark

