Custom to Personalized Settings

I have nowhere to fit my heart these days

I have jammed so many locks

And my heart carries all the bruises

But I don’t know what to do with it

Other than let it curve my back

Because of its weight

My hands have turned black from messing with it

I have tried serving my heart at family reunions

But even the dog would have none of it

At work, I’m constantly on the chopping block

Customers complain there’s something fishy about me

Despite how beautiful my smile is

So I have set up a little stand at pioneer square

Heart for sale!

A kiss and it’s all yours!

You can take it home with you

And convert it to personalized settings

There’s no return policy though

So make sure to consume it thoroughly

Now as you were.

2 thoughts on “Custom to Personalized Settings

  1. I love the way you write.Strong and with a purpose.
    “Heart for sale!
    A kiss and it’s all yours!
    You can take it home with you”
    Thank you for sharing the amazing poetry.

Leave your mark

